UPDATE: It was announced last week that Curtis Axel would defend the WWE Intercontinental Championship against Big E Langston tonight in the WWE Hell in a Cell Kickoff, which streams live at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT. The match, however, has been officially nixed due to Axel suffering an injury.

The official Twitter account of WWE announced at 2:03 p.m. "BREAKING: Due to injury, @RealCurtisAxel will not compete tonight at #HellInACell. Stay tuned to WWE.com for updates."

ORIGINAL: It was announced last week that Curtis Axel would defend the WWE Intercontinental Championship against Big E Langston tonight in the WWE Hell in a Cell Kickoff, which streams live at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT. However, it now appears that the match has been nixed, as the match is no longer advertised on the Hell in a Cell page on WWE.com, not to mention that the page previewing the match, has been deleted.

No match is being advertised for the WWE Hell in a Cell Kickoff show, with the following stated: "Find out who will be the next WWE Champion and watch John Cena's in-ring return when WWE Hell in a Cell airs live on pay-per-view tonight at 8 ET/5 PT, and don't forget to check out the Kickoff, which streams live at 7:30 ET/4:30 PT!"