AJ Styles Becomes First Grand Slam Champion In Both WWE & Impact Wrestling


Following Sunday night’s victory at WrestleMania 37 that saw AJ Styles and Omos win the RAW Tag-Team titles, Styles became the first wrestler to become a “Grand Slam” champion for both WWE and Impact Wrestling. As mentioned by Fightful, Styles is one of five TNA/Impact Wrestling Grand Slam winners alongside Abyss, Samoa Joe, Eric Young, and Austin Aries. Impact Grand Slam Champions have to have held the NWA World Heavyweight Title or TNA/Impact World Title, the X-Division Title, one of the tertiary titles (Legends, Global, TV, King of the Mountain, or Grand Championship), and a tag title reign. Styles now stands as the sole person to achieve that status in both companies.

To make things even more interesting, Styles is also not far from being an ROH Grand Slam Champion in the (admittedly unlikely) event he ends up returning to ROH before he retires, needing only a World Title reign and a TV Title reign.

As for WWE, the company recognizes Grand Slam champions under the format established in 2015 and include the following Superstars: Kurt Angle, Eddie Guerrero, Edge, Big Show, The Miz, Daniel Bryan, Chris Jericho, Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns, Randy Orton, Seth Rollins, Jeff Hardy, Kofi Kingston, Rey Mysterio, and AJ Styles. That is in addition to the original format as established in 1997, which recognized Shawn Michaels, Triple H, Kane, Jericho, Angle, Guerrero, Rob Van Dam, Booker T, Jeff Hardy, JBL, Christian, and The Big Show. The company also recognizes four women Grand Slam Champions in Bayley, Asuka, Sasha Banks, and Charlotte Flair.

Trending Stories