NJPW Announces Wrestle Kingdom 13 Pre-Show Gauntlet Match Participants


The competitors who will be competing in the pre-show gauntlet match at NJPW’s (New Japan Pro Wrestling) biggest event of the year, Wrestle Kingdom 13, have been announced.

The winners will receive an opportunity at the NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championships. The current champions are Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa, and Taiji Ishimori of Bullet Club.

The way the match will work is there being five trios involved in the gauntlet, which will be a series of three-on-three matches with two teams picked at random to start, and the winners advancing until there are no teams remaining. Here are the teams competing in the match:

The Elite (Marty Scurll, Hangman Page & Yujiro Takahashi)
Suzuki-Gun (Minoru Suzuki & Killer Elite Squad)
CHAOS (Hirooki Goto & Best Friends)
Ryusuke Taguchi, Toru Yano & Togi Makabe
Michael Elgin, Jeff Cobb & David Finlay

The show will go down in Tokyo, Japan on January 4, 2019 from the Tokyo Dome. Check out the full card here:

Main Card:

  • IWGP Heavyweight Championship: (C) Kenny Omega vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • IWGP Intercontinental Championship: (C) Chris Jericho vs. Tetsuya Naito
  • Kazuchika Okada vs. Jay White
  • IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship: (C) KUSHIDA vs. Taiji Ishimori
  • IWGP United States Championship: (C) Cody vs. Juice Robinson
  • IWGP Tag Team Championships: (C) Guerrillas of Destiny vs. The Young Bucks vs. EVIL and SANADA
  • RevPro British Heavyweight Championships: (C) Tomohiro Ishii vs. Zack Sabre Jr.
  • IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championships: (C) Yoshinobu Kanemaru and El Desperado vs. Roppongi 3K vs. BUSHI and Shingo Takagi
  • IWGP NEVER Openweight Championship: (C) Kota Ibushi vs. Will


  • Gauntlet Match (Number One Contender for the NEVER Six-Man Titles)

Trending Stories