Wednesday, June 19, 2024
NewsNotable WWE Royal Rumble Winners

Notable WWE Royal Rumble Winners



The biggest WWE superstars have won the Royal Rumble match. All who have won this event are already or soon to be inducted into the hall of fame. The event started in 1988 and continues of course to this day.

The very first event was held in Canada, but believe it or not. It was not the main event. The belief is that the match itself should be the main event. Out of the twenty sixth pay-per-view’s in its history only nine was the main event and ended the show.

Superstars like Hulk Hogan, Ric Flair, Bret Hart, Shawn Michaels, Steve Austin, The Rock, Triple H, The Undertaker, Edge have won the event. Most of those notable names have won the event on multiple occasions.

The match itself is a battle royal style and you eliminate superstars by throwing your opponent over the top rope and both of his feet have to hit the floor to eliminate the superstar. The match is always coordinated well and more less, planned out very well.

When I think of the Royal Rumble, I think wow, this could be the next WWE champion. This match is a symbol of what could be down the road.

Through-out the years it has served as a good pay-per-view and has headlined all of the top arena’s in the United States. Every year accept 2011 have been a thirty man elimination match, Of course in 2011 it was a forty man. I believe that is too many guys in the match and I believe WWE agrees because we have not seen that match since.

The most talked about rumble match was 1992 which Ric Flair won. He won the match in one hour and two minutes in eliminating Sid Justice at the end to become the new WWF Champion. Flair went on to lose the title to Randy Savage in a middle of the card.

Also Vince McMahon winning the rumble match in 1999, but the main event for that WrestleMania ended up being “Stone Cold Steve Austin defeating the Rock to become WWE champion.

Triple H only rumble win was at the 2002 rumble match after tearing his quads or Steve Austin coming back after neck surgery in 2001. Both men went onto WrestleMania to capture the WWE championship or in Triple H the undisputed championship.

“The next big thing” Brock Lesnar won the 2003 event to go on to have a classic with Kurt Angle at WrestleMania 19 to win is very first WWE championship.

Superstars like Batista, Rey Mysterio, Sheamus and Alberto Del Rio that sent them into the main event picture in an instant. The Royal Rumble match can do wonders for WWE superstars’ careers.

There are so many notable events and winners of this awesome pay-per-view.

- Advertisment -


- Advertisment -

Related Articles