Today In Pro Wrestling History (8/15) Clash of the Champions ’96, SummerSlam ’04 & ’10 + Hardcore Justice ’13


TNA announcer ‘The Professor’ Mike Tenay turns 60 today.

1982: WCCW Wrestling Star Wars was held at the Reunion Arena, in Dallas, Texas. 18,000 fans were in attendance to see the following:

* Jose Lothario defeated Frank Dusek 

* The Superfly (Kamala) defeated Brian Adias

* Al Madril defeated Bill Irwin 

* Lola Gonzalez defeated Pantera Surena

* Bugsy McGraw defeated Gary Hart & Arman Hussain in a 2 on 1 Handicap Match 

* David & Kevin Von Erich defeated Magic Dragon & The Great Kabuki to win the All Asia Tag Team Titles

* King Kong Bundy fought Harley Race to a double DQ to retain the NWA American Heavyweight Title

* Ric Flair defeated Kerry Von Erich to retain the NWA World Heavyweight Title in a 2 out of 3 Falls Match

1996: WCW Clash of the Champions XXXIII was held at the Denver Coliseum, in Denver, Colorado.

* Rey Misterio Jr. defeated Dean Malenko to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title

* V.K. Wallstreet defeated Jim Duggan

* Konnan defeated Ultimo Dragon

* Madusa defeated Bull Nakano 

* Eddie Guerrero defeated Diamond Dallas Page to win the WCW Battlebowl Trophy 

* The Giant (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Chris Benoit (with Woman & Miss Elizabeth) 

* Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) fought Sting & Lex Luger, & The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) to a no contest in a Triangle Match to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles 

* Ric Flair (with Miss Elizabeth & Woman) defeated Hollywood Hogan via DQ (Hogan retained the WCW World Title)

2004: WWE Summerslam was held at the Air Canada Centre, in Toronto, Canada. 17/640 fans were in attendance to see the following:

* The Dudleys (Spike, D-Von, & Bubba Ray Dudley) defeated Paul London, Rey Mysterio Jr., & Billy Kidman 

* Kane defeated Matt Hardy (with Lita) in a Til Death Do Us Part Match, forcing Lita to marry Kane 

* John Cena defeated Booker T in the 1st match of a Best of 5 series for the WWE United States Title 

* Edge defeated Chris Jericho & Batista in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title 

* Kurt Angle (with Luther Reigns) defeated Eddie Guerrero
* Triple H (with Ric Flair) defeated Eugene 

* Team Dream (Christy Hemme, Maria Kanellis, Michelle McCool, Amy Weber, Tracie Wright, & Joy Giovanni) defeated Team Diva (Victoria, Stacy Keibler, Gail Kim, Molly Holly, Nidia, & Jazz) in a Diva’s Dodgeball Contest 

* JBL (with Orlando Jordan) defeated The Undertaker via DQ to retain the WWE Title 

* Randy Orton defeated Chris Benoit to win the World Heavyweight Title

2010: WWE Summerslam was held at the Staples Center, in Los Angeles, California. 14,178 fans were in attendance to see the following:

* Dolph Ziggler (with Vickie Guerrero) fought Kofi Kingston to a no contest due to interference from The Nexus (Ziggler retained the WWE Intercontinental Title) 

* Melina defeated Alicia Fox to win the WWE Divas Title

* Big Show defeated The Straight Edge Society (Luke Gallows, Joseph Mercury, & CM Punk) (with Serena) in a 3 on 1 Handicap Match

* Randy Orton defeated Sheamus via DQ (Sheamus retained the WWE Title) 

* Kane defeated Rey Mysterio Jr. to retain the World Heavyweight Title 

* Team WWE (John Cena, John Morrison, R-Truth, Bret Hart, Edge, Chris Jericho, & Daniel Bryan) defeated The Nexus (Wade Barrett, David Otunga, Justin Gabriel, Heath Slater, Darren Young, Skip Sheffield, & Michael Tarver) in a 14-Man Tag Team Elimination Match with Cena as the lone survivor.

2011: WWE Suspends referee Mike Chioda and tough enough winner Andy Leavine was suspended for 30 days due to a violation of the WWE Wellness Policy. 

2013: TNA Impact: Hardcore Justice ’13 was held at the Constant Center, in Norfolk, Virginia. This show aired on Spike TV instead of traditional PPV:

* Kazarian defeated AJ Styles, Austin Aries, & Jeff Hardy in a Ladder Match to earn 20pts in the Bound For Glory Series 

* O.D.B. defeated Mickie James & Gail Kim in a 3-way Hardcore Match 

* Bobby Roode defeated Mr. Anderson, Samoa Joe, & Magnus in a Tables Match to earn 20pts in the Bound For Glory Series

* Bully Ray defeated Chris Sabin to win the TNA World Heavyweight Title in a Steel Cage Match
August 22nd Impact:

* Bobby Roode & Kazarian defeated Gunner & James Storm 

* Manik defeated Sonjay Dutt 

* Joseph Park defeated Hernandez, Jay Bradley, & Christopher Daniels in a Street Fight to earn 20pts in the Bound For Glory Series

* Gail Kim defeated O.D.B. 

* The Main Event Mafia (Sting, Quinton “Rampage” Jackson, Magnus, Samoa Joe, & AJ Styles) defeated Aces & Eights (Knux, Wes Briscoe, Garrett Bischoff, Mr. Anderson, & Devon) in a Loser of the Fall Must Leave TNA Match.

Trending Stories