Today In Pro Wrestling History (8/9) 1999 Is A Star, ECW Born To Be Wired, WCW Road Wild, Title Changes & More


Former TNA wrestler D-Ray 3000 turns 32 today.

1980: Bob Backlund & Pedro Morales defeated The Wild Samoans (Afa & Sika) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1986: Ric Flair defeated Dusty Rhodes to win the NWA World Title.

1997: ECW Born To Be Wired was held at the ECW Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

* Little Guido defeated Prodigy 

* Mikey Whipwreck defeated Louie Spicolli 

* Spike Dudley defeated Bam Bam Bigelow

* Chris Candido defeated Chris Chetti

* Shane Douglas defeated Lance Storm 

* Taz defeated Al Snow to retain the ECW World Television Title 

* The Dudley Boyz (Big Dick, Buh Buh Ray, & D-Von Dudley) defeated Hack Myers, Balls Mahoney, & Axl Rotten
* Rob Van Dam defeated Tommy Dreamer 

* Sabu defeated Terry Funk in a Barbed Wire Match to win the ECW World Title

1997: WCW Road Wild was held at the motorcycle rally in Sturgis, South Dakota. 6,500 were in attendance to see the following:

* Harlem Heat (Stevie Ray & Booker T) defeated Vicious & Delicious (Scott Norton & Buff Bagwell) (with Vincent) 

* Konnan defeated Rey Misterio Jr. in a Mexican Deathmatch 

* Steve McMichael & Chris Benoit defeated Dean Malenko & Jeff Jarrett in an Elimination Match

* Alex Wright defeated Chris Jericho to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title 

*Ric Flair defeated Syxx 

* Curt Hennig defeated Diamond Dallas Page (with Kimberly Page) 

* The Giant defeated Randy Savage (with Miss Elizabeth) 

* The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) (with Ted Dibiase) defeated The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) via DQ 

* Hollywood Hogan defeated Lex Luger to win the WCW World Title

1999: Kane & X-Pac defeated The Acolytes (Bradshaw & Faarooq) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles on Raw.

1999: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.4 to 3.0 in the ratings.

1999: Chris Benoit defeated David Flair to win the WCW United States Title on Nitro.

1999: Chris Jericho made his World Wrestling Federation debut on Raw.

2010: Angelina Love defeated Madison Rayne to win the TNA Knockout’s Title on Impact.

2011: Cody Rhodes defeated Ezekiel Jackson to win the WWE Intercontinental Title on Smackdown.

2013: PWG Ten was held at American Legion Post #308, in Reseda, Ca

* Willie Mack, Candice LaRae, & B-Boy defeated Ryan Taylor, Peter Avalon, & Joey Ryan

* Brian Cage defeated Anthony Nese 

* Alex Koslov & Rocky Romero defeated Johnny Goodtime & Johnny Yuma 

* Michael Elgin defeated A.R. Fox 

* Chuck Taylor & Johnny Gargano defeated Paul London & Brian Kendrick 

* Kyle O’Reilly defeated TJ Perkins 

* Adam Cole defeated Drake Younger & Kevin Steen to retain the PWG Title in a Guerilla Warfare 3-way Match 

* The Young Bucks (Nick & Matt Jackson) defeated The Inner City Machine Guns (Rich Swann & Ricochet), & The Dojo Bros (Eddie Edwards & Roderick Strong) to retain the PWG World Tag Team Title in a 3-way Ladder Match

Trending Stories

Please read our community guidelines before posting a comment.