Today In Pro Wrestling History (9/11) TNA Unbreakable ‘05, Bruno Sammartino Note, Jeff Hardy Arrested & ROH Glory By Honor IX ‘10


Former TNA Knockout Josie ‘Sojourner Bolt’ Bynum turns 37  today. 

Former ECW owner Paul Heyman turns 49  today. 

1967: The Von Erichs (Fritz & Waldo) defeated Brute Bernard & Mike Paidousis to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles.

1973: Mr. Fuji & Professor Tanaka defeated Haystacks Calhoun & Tony Garea to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles.

1984: WWE Hall of Famer Bruno Sammartino made his debut as a commentator for WWF during an episode of Championship Wrestling.

1995: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw 2.5 to 2.2 in the ratings.

2000: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 5.8 to 3.2 in the ratings.

2005: TNA Unbreakable was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. 775 people were in attendance to see the following take place:

– 3Live Kru (Ron Killings, Konnan, & BG James) defeated The Diamonds In The Rough (Elix Skipper, Simon Diamond, & David Young)
– Austin Aries defeated Roderick Strong 

– Kip James & Monty Brown defeated Apolo & Lance Hoyt (with Sonny Siaki) 

– Chris Sabin defeated Petey Williams
– Abyss (with Father James Mitchell) defeated Sabu in a No-DQ Match 

– Bobby Roode defeated Jeff Hardy 

– The Naturals (Chase Stevens & Andy Douglas) (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Johnny Candido & Alex Shelley, America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm), & Team Canada (Eric Young & A-1) in a Fatal Four Way Elimination Match to retain the NWA Tag Team Titles 

– Raven defeated Rhino in a Raven’s Rules Match to retain the NWA World Title 

– AJ Styles defeated Christopher Daniels & Samoa Joe in a 3-Way Dance Match to win the TNA X-Division Title

2009: Jeff Hardy was arrested on charges of trafficking in controlled prescription pills and possession of anabolic steroid.

2010: Former WWF and WCW wrestler Mike Shaw died at the aged of 53.

2010: ROH Glory By Honor IX was held at the Manhattan Center, in New York City.

– Kenny King defeated Jay Briscoe 

– Mark Briscoe defeated Rhett Titus 

– The Embassy (Erick Stevens & Necro Butcher) (with Prince Nana) defeated Grizzly Redwood & Balls Mahoney in a Tag Team Grudge Match

– Colt Cabana & El Generico defeated Kevin Steen & Steve Corino in a Double Chain Match 

– Eddie Edwards defeated Shawn Daivari (with Prince Nana) to retain the ROH Television Title 

– Christopher Daniels defeated Austin Aries

– The Kings Of Wrestling (Chris Hero & Claudio Castagnoli) defeated Wrestling’s Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin)

– Roderick Strong (with Truth Martini) defeated Tyler Black in a No-DQ Match with Terry Funk as ‘ringside vigilante’ to win the ROH World Title

2011: TNA No Surrender was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. 1,100 people were in attendance to see the following take place:

– Jesse Sorensen defeated Kid Kash

– Bully Ray defeated James Storm via DQ 

– Winter defeated Mickie James to win the TNA Knockout’s Title 

– Mexican America (Anarquia & Hernandez) defeated D’Angelo Dinero & Devon to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Matt Morgan defeated Samoa Joe

– Bobby Roode defeated Gunner 

– Austin Aries defeated Brian Kendrick to win the TNA X Division Title

– Bobby Roode defeated Bully Ray in a tiebreaker match to win the Bound For Glory Series 

– Kurt Angle defeated Sting & Mr. Anderson in a 3-Way Match to retain the TNA World Title

Trending Stories