Thursday, July 25, 2024
NewsWWEBackstage Details On Botched Pin In Damian Priest vs. Seth Rollins Match

Backstage Details On Botched Pin In Damian Priest vs. Seth Rollins Match

12,933 views

TRENDING

A controversial moment unfolded at the Scotiabank Arena in Toronto during the WWE World Heavyweight Championship match between Damian Priest and Seth Rollins at Saturday night’s WWE Money In The Bank 2024 pay-per-view event.

According to the match stipulation, if Priest retained the title, Rollins would be barred from challenging for the championship as long as he held it. If Rollins won, Priest would have to leave The Judgment Day.

Towards the end of the match, Rollins executed a Falcon Arrow, and despite Priest not kicking out, the referee stopped counting at two.

Shortly after, Drew McIntyre appeared with his Money In The Bank briefcase to cash in his contract. After the bell rang, McIntyre executed a Future Shock DDT on Priest, who rebounded with a clothesline.

Subsequently, McIntyre was struck by a powerful kick from Priest. The situation escalated as CM Punk made a shocking entrance and attacked McIntyre, using a chair and a cable, before hitting him in the face with the title belt. This sequence of events led to Priest pinning McIntyre to retain the World Heavyweight Championship.

There has been speculation regarding whether it was a refereeing error, whether Priest failed to kick out, or whether McIntyre’s interference disrupted the timing.

Dave Meltzer of Wrestling Observer Radio is reporting that Priest didn’t execute a kickout as expected. He said,

“I had asked around, and basically the story I heard was that he didn’t kick out. I think there’s a possibility that there might have been a timing…. this is not what I was told when I watched it [but[ maybe there was a timing thing where it was supposed to be like one or two, and then the music hits, and then because Drew’s coming down right away. And then maybe like that’s supposed to be the thing in the music, but when I did ask it was, ‘he just didn’t kick out.’ And you know, that was that so whether he was rocked, whatever it was, I don’t know. But yeah, yeah, you know, there was a very, very noticeable thing and Levaue even was asked about it after the show, and just kind of gave this thing of, well, ‘I need to talk to the referee,’ because he basically said, yeah, the guy didn’t kick out and he talks the referee way held up the count. But he also said it like Triple H, ‘I’m doing this,’ which basically saying, ‘wink wink.’ The storyline. But then he started with everyone’s going to be on Priest’s case, and Priest wrestled such a great match, and why be so negative, you know, everyone’s gonna talk about how he screwed up. But it’s like he had such a great match. So that was kind of like the way it was, so yeah, it was he didn’t kick out, and they said that he didn’t kick out, and the referee stopped the count, and the referee shouldn’t stop the count, but the ref in that situation. Boy, did he have no choice. Boy, did he have no choice. What could he have done?”

It remains to be seen what awaits McIntyre now that Punk has once again cost him a major title shot.

You can check out a clip of the botched pin attempt below:

- Advertisment -

LATEST NEWS

- Advertisment -

Related Articles