AJ Styles

  • Born: 06/02/1977 in Jacksonville, North Carolina
  • Birthname: Allen Neal Jones
  • Height & Weight: 5'11", 218 Ib
Titles Won:
  • WWE Championship
  • NWA World Heavyweight Championship (3 times)
  • TNA World Heavyweight Championship (2 times)
  • First TNA Triple Crown Champion (5 times)
  • First TNA Grand Slam Champion (2 times)
  • IWGP Heavyweight Championship (2 times)
  • WWE United States Championship (2 times)

Allen Jones is best known by the ring name AJ Styles (also stylized A.J. Styles), and is an American professional wrestler currently signed to WWE.

Styles, who has long been regarded as one of the world’s greatest professional wrestlers, is widely known for his tenure in Total Nonstop Action Wrestling (TNA) from 2002–2013, where he was dubbed “Mr. TNA”,[7] and was the public face of TNA for over 11 years. While in TNA, Styles held the NWA World Heavyweight Championship three times and the TNA World Heavyweight Championship twice. He was also the first X Division Champion, a title he held six times. Styles is the first professional wrestler ever to complete the TNA Triple Crown (five times) and the TNA Grand Slam (two times).

In 2010, Styles became the first ever TNA-contracted wrestler to be ranked number one on the annual Pro Wrestling Illustrated (PWI) PWI 500 list. He simultaneously appeared in Ring of Honor (ROH) from 2002–2006, winning the ROH World Tag Team Championship (with Amazing Red) and becoming the first ROH Pure Champion.

In 2014, he signed with New Japan Pro-Wrestling (NJPW) and won the IWGP Heavyweight Championship in his first match with the company, later becoming the leader of the Bullet Club. He competed on the independent circuit, winning titles such as the PWG World Championship and the RPW British Heavyweight Championship, among many others.

Styles first appeared in WWE (then the World Wrestling Federation, or the WWF) in 2002, but turned down a developmental deal he was offered with the company. He signed a multi-year contract with WWE fourteen years later in January 2016, making his official debut at that month’s Royal Rumble pay-per-view event. After appearing at his first WrestleMania that April, Styles headlined multiple pay-per-view events en route to winning the then WWE World Championship at Backlash in September, holding the title up until 2017’s Royal Rumble in January.

Also in 2016, both PWI and Wrestling Observer Newsletter voted Styles as the “Wrestler of the Year”. With his second WWE Championship victory in Manchester, England in November 2017, Styles was recognized by WWE as the first wrestler to win the title outside of North America. Also that year, he was inducted into the WON Hall of Fame.

Notable Matches

vs Samoa Joe vs Christopher Daniels at Unbreakable 2005

w/ Daniels vs LAX at No Surrender 2006

vs Kurt Angle at Hard Justice 2008

vs Chris Sabin vs Petey Williams at Final Resolution 2005

vs Jerry Lynn vs Low Ki vs Psychosis.on TNA Weekly Pay Per View. June 26th 2002

vs Abyss at Lockdown 2005

vs Christopher Daniels vs Samoa Joe at Turning Point 2009

vs Shinsuke Nakamura at Wrestle Kingdom X

vs John Cena at Royal Rumble 2017

Notable Feuds: Christopher Daniels, Samoa Joe, Kurt Angle, Petey Williams, Abyss, Jerry Lynn, Jeff Jarrett, Bully Ray, Chris Jericho, John Cena, Shane McMahon.

Other Notable Achievements: PWG Championship, PWI Wrestler Of The Year (2016), NWA World Tag Team Championship (4 times) – with Jerry Lynn (1), Abyss (1) and Christopher Daniels (2), TNA Legends/Global/Television Championship (2 times), TNA World Tag Team Championship (2 times) – with Tomko (1) and Kurt Angle (1), TNA X Division Championship (6 times), Bound For Glory Series (2013), ROH Pure Wrestling Championship, ROH Tag Team Championship – with Amazing Red

AAW Heavyweight Championship (5 times), Ballpark Brawl Natural Heavyweight Championship (3 times), CWF/E Heavyweight Championship (5 times), FWE Heavyweight Championship, IPW Heavyweight Championship (4 times), IWA Mid-South Heavyweight Championship, Ted Petty Invitational (2004), IWC Super Indies Championship (4 times), IWR King of The Indies Championship (12 times), Max-Pro Cruiserweight Championship (12 times), MPW Universal Heavyweight Championship (12 times), NKPWA Junior Heavyweight Championship, NWA Wildside Heavyweight Championship, NWA Wildside Television Championship (3 times), PPW Tag Team Championship – with Tommy Suede, RPW British Heavyweight Championship, WWA International Cruiserweight Championship.