John Cena Likely To Break Record At WrestleMania


Source: Pwinsider

Here is a very interesting statistic about John Cena in regards to his match at WrestleMania. With his WWE title match against The Rock almost a certainty to go on last, this will be the ninth consecutive WrestleMania that Cena has either closed the show, or fought for the WWE or World titles. The only time Cena has not done this was at WrestleMania XX, where he defeated Big Show for the US title to open. From WrestleMania 21 to this year, he’s either main evented, or fought for either the World or WWE titles.

Until Sunday, he is tied with Hulk Hogan and Triple H with eight. Hogan main evented or fought for a World title at WrestleManias I, II, III, V, VI, VII, VIII, and IX. The only WrestleManias he didn’t do this at were IV, XVIII and XIX. Triple H did it at XVI, XVIII, XIX, XX, XXI, XXII, XXIV, and XXV. The only ones that he didn’t were at XII, XIII, XIV, XV, XVII, XXVII, and XXVIII. If WWE decided to run Triple H vs Brock Lesnar as the main event and not John Cena vs The Rock, then Triple H will end up breaking the record and not Cena.

Next is Shawn Michaels with six: XI, XII, XIV, XX, XXIII, and XXVI. After him, it’s The Rock with five, including this Sunday. The others are XV, XVI, XVII, and XXVIII. If The Undertaker’s match with CM Punk were to close, then he would tie with the Rock. As it stands, he has four with XIII, XXIII, XXIV and XXVI. Also at four are Edge (XXIV, XXV, XXVI, and XXVII) and Yokozuna (twice each at IX and X).

Those with only three are Randy Savage (IV, V, and VIII), Bret Hart (IX, X, and XII), Steve Austin (XIV, XV, and XVII), Chris Jericho (XVIII, XXVI, and XXVIII), Kurt Angle (XIX, XX, and XXII), Batista (XXI, XXIII, and XXVI), and Randy Orton (XXII, XXIV, and XXV). Orton or Jericho could get four if their matches close, but that’s not going to happen. Those with two are Sid (VIII and XIII), the Big Show (XVI and XXV), and Alberto Del Rio (XXVII and Sunday at XXIX).

The wrestlers with only one WrestleMania main event or World title shot are Roddy Piper (at I), Paul Orndorf (at I), Mr. T (at I), King Kong Bundy (II), Andre the Giant (III), Ted DiBiase (IV), the Ultimate Warrior (VI), Sgt. Slaughter (VII), Ric Flair (VIII), Lex Luger (X), Diesel (XI), Bam Bam Bigelow (XI), Lawrence Taylor (XI), Mick Foley (XVI), Booker T (XIX), Brock Lesnar (XIX), Eddie Guerrero (XX), Chris Benoit (XX), JBL (XXI), Rey Mysterio (XXII), The Miz (XXVII), Sheamus (XXVIII), Daniel Bryan (XXVIII), CM Punk (XXVIII), and Jack Swagger (this Sunday at XXIX). Lesnar or Punk could be up to two if they close tomorrow.

Trending Stories