Monday, July 15, 2024
ResultsNJPWNJPW Wrestle Kingdom 17 Results

NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 17 Results



NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 17
January 4, 2023
Tokyo Dome
Tokyo, Japan


Match 1: Ryoehi Oiwa vs. Boltin Oleg 

Wasting no time, both men went back-and-forth right off the bat. Oiwa delivered a big shoulder tackle but Oleg fired back with a big hip toss and a body slam for a two-count. The clock hit the 3-minute mark and the exhibition match concluded with no clear winner.


Match 2: New Japan Rambo for the right to challenge for the KOPW 2023 Belt (Final Four advance to the KOPW 2023 Championship Match at New Year’s Dash)

The Participants: SHO, Hikuleo, EVIL, Tomohiro Ishii, The Great O-Khan, Douki, Rocky Romero, KENTA, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Aaron Henare, Ryusuke Taguchi, Jeff Cobb, Shane Haste, Mikey Nicholls, Yujiro Takahashi, Toru Yano, El Phantasmo, Taichi, Shingo Takagi

Order Of Eliminations:

  • EVIL was eliminated by Sho
  • Tomohiro Ishii was eliminated by Aaron Henare & The Great O-Khan
  • Douki was eliminated by The Great O-Khan
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru was eliminated by Hikuleo
  • Rocky Romero was eliminated by Shane Haste
  • Ryusuke Taguchi was eliminated by TMDK
  • Hikuleo was eliminated by The Great O-Khan
  • Jeff Cobb was eliminated by TMDK
  • Shane Haste was eliminated by Mikey Nicholls
  • Mikey Nicholls was eliminated by The Great O-Khan and Aaron Henare
  • Aaron Henare was eliminated by El Phantasmo
  • Taichi was eliminated by Shingo Takagi, El Phantasmo, KENTA, Sho and Yujiro Takahashi
  • Yujiro Takahashi was eliminated by Shingo Takagi
  • KENTA was eliminated by Shingo Takagi
  • El Phantasmo was eliminated by Sho

Winners: Great-O-Khan, SHO, Toru Yano and Shingo Takagi


Antonio Inoki Memorial 6-Man Tag Match:
Togi Makabe, Yuji Nagata & Satoshi Kojima vs. Tiger Mask, Minoru Suzuki & Tatsumi Fujinami

Makabe blocked the Reverse Hurricanrana and rolled Tiger over to pickup the victory for his team.

Winners: Togi Makabe, Yuji Nagata & Satoshi Kojima


IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship
United Empire (TJ Perkins & Francesco Akira) (c) vs. CHAOS (Lio Rush & YOH)

Rush nailed Akira with The Come Up while YOH went for The Direct Drive, but Perkins countered with an inside cradle to score the three-count and retain the titles.

Winners and still IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions: TJ Perkins & Francesco Akira 

IWGP Women’s Championship
KAIRI (c) vs. Tam Nakano

KAIRI dropped Nakano with The Insane Elbow to retain her title via pinfall.

Post-match, Mercedes Mone (formerly WWE’s Sasha Banks) made her grand entrance in a Kimono as she walked out to the ring, posed in front of the live audience, and challenged KAIRI for the title. Mone attacked KAIRI and vowed to dethrone the champion when they eventually face off on February 18th.

Winner and still IWGP Women’s Champion: KAIRI

IWGP Tag Team Championship
FTR (Dax Harwood & Cash Wheeler) (c) vs. Bishamon (YOSHI-HASHI & Hirooki Goto)

Goto clotheslined Wheeler over the top rope and delivered another clothesline to the back of Harwood’s neck. Hashi superkicked Harwood and the duo planted Dax with The Shoto for the pin to win the tag team titles.

Winner and new IWGP Tag Team Champions: Bishamon

NJPW World TV Championship Tournament Final
Zack Sabre Jr. vs. Ren Narita

Sabre cemented his legacy as the inaugural NJPW World Television Champion as he picked up the historic victory by forcing Ren Narita to tapout with an armbar.

Post-match, Sabre was confronted by Shane Haste and Mikey Nicholls who offered him a spot in The Mighty Don’t Kneel. Sabre swiftly accepted the invitation and received a t-shirt from the group, signalling the new alliance.

Winner and new NJPW World TV Champion: Zack Sabre Jr.

NEVER Openweight Championship
Karl Anderson (c) vs. Tama Tonga

Anderson blasted Tonga with the belt before the match began but the challenger managed to come around. Tonga delivered two consecutive Gun Stuns to dethrone the WWE Superstar and win the NEVER Openweight Championship for the second time in his career.

Winner and new NEVER Openweight Champion: Tama Tonga

Keiji Muto’s Last Match In NJPW
Keiji Muto, Hiroshi Tanahashi & Shota Umino vs. Los Ingobernables de Japon (Tetsuya Naito, SANADA & BUSHI)

Tanahashi rocked BUSHI with a slingblade and Muto followed up with the Shining Wizard. Umino nailed BUSHI with the Death Rider to score the pinfall victory.

Winners: Keiji Muto, Hiroshi Tanahashi & Shota Umino

IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship
Taiji Ishimori (c) vs. Hiromu Takahashi vs. El Desperado vs. Master Wato

Hiromu Takahashi ended Taiji Ishimori’s reign by pinning Master Wato with the Time Bomb, thereby winning the title and cementing himself as a 5-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion.

Winner and new IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion: Hiromu Takahashi

IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship
Will Ospreay (c) vs. Kenny Omega

Kenny Omega dethroned Ospreay to win the IWGP US Heavyweight Championship for the second time in his career. Omega blasted Ospreay with the Kamigoye, Kota Ibushi’s finisher, and pinned him with the One Winged Angel to capture the title.

Winner and new IWGP US Heavyweight Champion: Kenny Omega

IWGP World Heavyweight Championship
Jay White (c) vs. Kazuchika Okada

Okada neutralised White with the Blade Runner and Cobra Flowsion. Okada then nailed White with The Rain Maker for the pin to win the IWGP World Heavyweight Title.

Post-match, Shingo Takagi challenged Okada for the title.

Winner and new IWGP World Heavyweight Champion: Kazuchika Okada

You can keep up with all your wrestling news right here on Or you can follow us over on our Twitter and Facebook pages.

- Advertisment -


- Advertisment -

Related Articles